English Tip 2:

English has a very simple way of making contractions, either have a pronoun (I, she, he, you, it, we, they, this, that) and combine it with have/will/be/had/would or take one of the more common verbs or modals (be/have/will/do/should/would/can/) and combine it with not.  They are mostly used in spoken English as it makes things faster to say.

Pronouns + Verb:

Have =>I’ve/You’ve/He’s/She’s/It’s/We’ve/They’ve/That’s

Will  => ‘ll

Am/Are/Is    => I’m/You’re/He’s/She’s/It’s/We’re/They’re/That’s

Had/Would  => ‘d

They are going to the store later.  They’re going to the store later.

It is going to be a nice day today.  It’s going to be a nice day today.

You will be sorry if you poke the bear.  You’ll be sorry if you poke the bear.

I would have brought something but I was running late.  I’d have brought something but I was running late.

Verb + Not: => Verbn’t

Am

Are

Is

Could

Can

Did

Does

Has

Had

Is

Should

Was

Were

Will  => Won’t

Would

She will not eat broccolli.  She won’t eat broccoli.

We were not the ones who broke the window.  We weren’t the ones that broke the window.

That is not big enough.  That isn’t big enough.

